Latest News

Local election results: Dhuyvetter, Johnson, Vassen win council seats; sales tax renewed

Posted 6/14/16 (Tue)

Steve Dhuyvetter, Denise Johnson and Troy Vassen won seats to Crosby's city council in an election Tuesday.

Vassen was the lone of three incumbents to receive another term, as Dhuyvetter and Johnson were among three challengers to seats previously held by Vassen, Wayne Benter and Don Wolf.

The city's 1 percent "Spirit Fund" sales tax for economic development will continue after about two-thirds of voters cast ballots in support.

Election results for contested races:

City council (three seats)
Steve Dhuyvetter - 215 (25.97 percent)
Denise Johnson - 179 (21.62 percent)
Troy Vassen - 149 (18.00 percent)
Wayne Benter - 125 (15.10 percent)
Don Wolf - 85 (10.27 percent)
Austin Dimmick - 74 (8.94 percent)
Write-in - 1 (0.12 percent)

Crosby 1 percent sales tax
Yes - 191 (67.49 percent)
No - 92 (32.51 percent)

Incumbents winning uncontested seats included county commissioner Doug Graupe and park board members Traci Lund, Pat Wolf and Brenda Casteel.

Divide County residents voting in the Republican gubernatorial primary prefer Wayne Stenehjem (285, 57.93 percent) over Doug Burgum (196, 39.84 percent) and Paul Sorum (11, 2.24 percent). The county also rejected the statewide Measure 1, with 435 votes against (81.01 percent) and 102 votes in support (18.99 percent).

The Weather Network