Journal Blog and Photo Gallery

Altered tapes or altered states?

Even a comedy show has the moral high ground over the White House.

Posted 11/13/18 (Tue) read more »

St. Thomas Aquinas offers advice for today's politics

Words for politicians to live by.

Posted 11/06/18 (Tue) read more »

Political ads show a divide in these United States

Perhaps we should recall our principle of unity when we head for the polls.

Posted 10/30/18 (Tue) read more »

One dreamer's measures choices: No, no, no, and no

Why I will vote against all four measures on the ballot in North Dakota this November.

Posted 10/23/18 (Tue) read more »

Digital divide is killing communities

We are so isolated within our own bubbles, and that makes us vulnerable to needing the sort of tribes we join online.

Posted 10/16/18 (Tue) read more »

Victims have fewer protections

If corroboration is the standard that must be met for sexual assault charges, almost no victim will see justice.

Posted 10/09/18 (Tue) read more »

Naval might is impressive to Plains folk

Our up-close look at naval and oceanographic technology in Norfolk, Va., was a marvel.

Posted 10/02/18 (Tue) read more »

Predators have no place to hide now

Survivors of sexual misconduct have been carrying their pain with them every day. Now, they are coming out of the shadows.

Posted 9/25/18 (Tue) read more »

Kavanaugh vote should not impact race

Heidi Heitkamp should stick to her gut rather than try to gauge whether her vote either way will impact her campaign for re-election.

Posted 9/18/18 (Tue) read more »

Watford City is capitalizing on its opportunities

None of its new public facilities would have been possible without oil.

Posted 9/11/18 (Tue) read more »