Journal Blog and Photo Gallery

Welcome, one and all, to the 2017 Celebration!

I am excited for all of the wonderful improvements visitors will see -- especially those who have not been here since the 2004 Crosby Centennial.

Posted 8/01/17 (Tue) read more »

Mothers of the bride are always red-eyed, right?

This is a hard column to write -- so hard, that I am actually speaking it into my cell phone instead of typing it.

Posted 7/25/17 (Tue) read more »

Crosby buildings may not talk, but its people sure can

Touring these buildings surely will be a highlight of the Aug. 4-6 community celebration.

Posted 7/18/17 (Tue) read more »

Corrections, additions, subtractions

Creative license is a fancy way of saying I am a big fat liar. The truth is, in my columns, I lie to you all the time.

Posted 7/11/17 (Tue) read more »

A rare Fourth of July for us newspaper folk

I cannot remember a Fourth of July in the past 18 years that I had totally off from work.

Posted 7/03/17 (Mon) read more »

Welfare for the rich? Shame on us

As Congress decides who will be the winners and losers with its health care plan, I have some measure of guilt.

Posted 6/27/17 (Tue) read more »

Say, is it hot enough for you?

In Tucson, the temperatures are reaching 115 degrees. Going out in this heat is a production.

Posted 6/20/17 (Tue) read more »

Agency cannot dictate what is quoted from public talk

Laws about free speech apply to everyone.

Posted 5/09/17 (Tue) read more »

Hague church is unexpected delight for travelers

A compellingly beautiful display of religion and history has been preserved on the North Dakota prairie.

Posted 5/02/17 (Tue) read more »

The buck stops here -- or, better customer service

We better be treating the customers we have like the valuable individuals they are, or we cannot expect their loyalty.

Posted 4/25/17 (Tue) read more »