Journal Blog and Photo Gallery

High school football in October just cannot be beat

This will be the second trip Divide County has made to New Salem. The first one was unforgettable.

Posted 10/17/17 (Tue) read more »

Calling out my friends on Facebook, in a nice way

I feel compelled, as a journalist, to try to set the record straight.

Posted 10/10/17 (Tue) read more »

Planning for a happy retirement

I will have no trouble living comfortably to the ripe old age of 100, provided I work until I am 107.

Posted 10/03/17 (Tue) read more »

Standing, kneeling, locking arms -- all are American

What better place to take a stand -- or not -- than with millions upon millions of citizens watching?

Posted 9/26/17 (Tue) read more »

Want to feel good? Try being a hero

Never in history have so many of us done so much or contributed so generously to help others in need than after Hurricanes Harvey and Irma.

Posted 9/19/17 (Tue) read more »

And now, a word from our sponsor

Most commercials I can take or leave, but there are some that are downright annoying.

Posted 9/12/17 (Tue) read more »

Clothes really do make the man

I have never cared that much about fashion. My current style is probably best described as hobo formal.

Posted 9/05/17 (Tue) read more »

Facebook fuels an addiction to outrage

What possesses people to post some of this stuff?

Posted 8/29/17 (Tue) read more »

Boston march restores some faith in United States

A great majority of our citizens will not stand for hate. I stand with them. 

Posted 8/22/17 (Tue) read more »

Top ND officials slip up to accommodate secrecy

A meeting with EPA chief Scott Pruitt not only violated the North Dakota way, but also may have violated the law.

Posted 8/15/17 (Tue) read more »