Journal Blog and Photo Gallery

Welfare for the rich? Shame on us

As Congress decides who will be the winners and losers with its health care plan, I have some measure of guilt.

Posted 6/27/17 (Tue) read more »

Say, is it hot enough for you?

In Tucson, the temperatures are reaching 115 degrees. Going out in this heat is a production.

Posted 6/20/17 (Tue) read more »

Agency cannot dictate what is quoted from public talk

Laws about free speech apply to everyone.

Posted 5/09/17 (Tue) read more »

Hague church is unexpected delight for travelers

A compellingly beautiful display of religion and history has been preserved on the North Dakota prairie.

Posted 5/02/17 (Tue) read more »

The buck stops here -- or, better customer service

We better be treating the customers we have like the valuable individuals they are, or we cannot expect their loyalty.

Posted 4/25/17 (Tue) read more »

Trying to think like a rich man thinks

Billionaires are really not that different from millionaires, thousandaires and paupers: They all want more.

Posted 4/18/17 (Tue) read more »

Some last-minute tax help

You waited until the last minute, while your friends are already spending their refund checks on some new sports cars.

Posted 4/11/17 (Tue) read more »

Snitches need protection from overzealous officers

North Dakota has no required standards governing the use of confidential informants. We know this because of Andrew Sadek.

Posted 4/04/17 (Tue) read more »

Treasured times with the family

As painful as my interactions with family can get, at least none of them have ever tried to eat me.

Posted 3/28/17 (Tue) read more »

Despite oppressive conditions, swim meet is impressive

Not bad for someone from a family whose only previous aquatic accomplishment was a disgusting belly flop at the Crosby Swimming Pool.

Posted 3/21/17 (Tue) read more »