Journal Blog and Photo Gallery

Every millennial could use a trip to the Holocaust Museum

No one should ever, ever forget, and yet the number of people unfamiliar with the 1940s genocide of 6 million Jews is increasing.

Posted 4/17/18 (Tue) read more »

Reporting erratic driver better than watching a semi roll

Did we save a life? Maybe even our own? We will never know, but here is the story.

Posted 4/10/18 (Tue) read more »

Regret weighs heavy with loss of luster and charm

As a kid, I thought the Tuftedal Chevrolet building in Crosby was captivating. Things change.

Posted 4/03/18 (Tue) read more »

Facebook is teetering now

I am one of its biggest critics, yet I continue to wade into it daily.

Posted 3/27/18 (Tue) read more »

A tale of 3 politicians guided by character and values

It seems they do not make them like this anymore.

Posted 3/20/18 (Tue) read more »

Keeping the sun shining on local governments in ND

This week is Sunshine Week, a nationwide celebration of access to public information and what it means for you and your community.

Posted 3/13/18 (Tue) read more »

I owe this column to John Andrist

Clearing up an unsettled argument about Crosby history and the Great Northern Railway.

Posted 3/06/18 (Tue) read more »

New location for the Tioga Tribune

Publisher Cecile Wehrman addressed the Tioga City Commission last week.

Posted 2/27/18 (Tue) read more »

Do something!: A plea to heed now

I am tired, so tired of seeing these stories of mass shootings.

Posted 2/20/18 (Tue) read more »

Path for newspapers is taking shape

Sometimes, it just takes looking at a problem in a new light to find a way forward.

Posted 2/13/18 (Tue) read more »